Skip to main content

How can I ensure all hours on a project are marked as billable?

Written by Nina Janza

Prevent Normal users from changing the billable status

By default, all users are able to mark time logs as non-billable on billable projects.

You can prevent Normal users (but not Managers and Admins) from changing the billable status of time logs from billable to non-billable. This means they will not be able to mark logs as non-billable on billable projects. Please go to the Tracking form section of the Account settings to set this.


Required inputs on time logs

When a time log does not have a Project assigned, it will always be shown as non-billable until a project is selected for it. In case you are using a task-based billable rate, a task also needs to be selected for it to be billable.

To avoid non-billable time, it might be helpful to turn on the option to require project (and optionally task) inputs on every log here. Then, every added time log will need to have a project (and task) selected right away and will never be added as non-billable.



Correct bulk editing

If some logs on otherwise billable projects appear as non-billable, this could also be due to incorrect bulk editing.

Let's say a user initially enters the time without selecting a project, and then they (or their Manager or Admin) go to bulk edit entries to select the project for multiple logs at once. In this case, the time logs would be entered as non-billable initially (because they didn't have a project selected).

If they then add details by bulk editing the time logs and select 'No change' in the Billable log section, the time logs will remain non-billable.

Did this answer your question?