By tracking time on specific tasks, you will get more detailed and insightful reports, and be able to manage projects and time better. It is possible to set a budget (in total hours, billable amount, or cost) for each task, follow its progress, and mark tasks as completed.
You can create one or more task lists for a project and add tasks with detailed descriptions to them.
Start by adding a new task list to a project. You can of course rename it as you wish.
Add tasks with detailed descriptions to your task list. You can add them from scratch or select them from Task templates. We recommend preparing task templates for tasks that recur on many projects.
To delete a task, click 'Archive' under the task. Then a pop-up will appear which will allow you to archive or delete a task. If you archive it, it will remain assigned to past time logs. If you delete it, it will be removed from past time logs. In both cases, it will not be available for selection on future time logs.
If no member is assigned to a task, all team members assigned to a project will be able to track time on its tasks. If some members are assigned to a task, only they will be able to track time on the task.
Administrators and project managers are able to create new tasks, while normal members can only track time on existing tasks.
Administrators and managers can mark tasks as completed. When a task is marked as completed, more time can still be added to it. If you wish to prevent members from adding more time to a task, you need to archive it.
Task budget (task estimates)
If your project has a Task-based budget, you can also set task estimates (in total hours, billable amount, or cost). This way you will always be able to quickly see how many resources there are left for each task and which tasks went over budget.
You can also decide to show this information to all team members. This means they will be able to see how much budget is left before entering their time. The budget spent will be displayed on the Track page:
If you wish to hide/show this information, please go to the Time log fields.
Remove a task list
Click the 'Archive' button to remove the entire task list from the project overview. You will be able to decide whether to archive or delete it. If you archive it, all data tracked on tasks from the list will remain in the reports. If you delete it, everything will be removed.
If you find yourself in need of the same task on many different projects, you can create a task template. This way you can quickly add it to each of the projects. Once a task from the templates is added to a project, you can edit it independently in each project and this will not affect the same task in other projects.
Please go to 'Manage task templates' section of the Account admin to create and manage task templates.
When creating a task template you can set for it to be automatically added to all new projects.
If you wish to add a task from the task templates to all existing projects, you can do this here:
You will be able to edit your task template when needed:
IMPORTANT: Please note that when editing a task template, only the template will be updated. Updating the template will not update the tasks in projects. Tasks in the projects are independent of the task templates and of one another.